CS:GO ranks were introduced in 2012 to help define player’s competitive matchmaking skill level. The matchmaking system matches players with other players of a similar skill level.

Technically, a players “rank” refers to their profile rank, which is determined by the amount of experience points earned via competitive matchmaking and official operations, and what’s outlined below are “skill groups” but players within the community talking about “ranks” almost exclusively mean the competitive skill level determined by matchmaking rather than a players experience points.

CSGO Ranks

There are 18 ranks in total as shown above.

  • Silver I
  • Silver II
  • Silver III
  • Silver IV
  • Silver Elite
  • Silver Elite Master
  • Gold Nova I
  • Gold Nova II
  • Gold Nova III
  • Gold Nova Master
  • Master Guardian I (often referred to as “MG1”)
  • Master Guardian II (often referred to as “MG2”)
  • Master Guardian Elite (often referred to as “Double AK”)
  • Distinguished Master Guardian (often referred to as “DMG”)
  • Legendary Eagle (often referred to as “LE”)
  • Legendary Eagle Master (often referred to as “LEM”)
  • Supreme Master First Class (often referred to as “Supreme”)
  • The Global Elite (often referred to as “Global Elite” or “GE”)

Players new to competitive matchmaking will not have a skill group and so will be teamed up with others with no skill group or a low level skill group. Players without a skill group are limited to two competitive match wins per day until they are placed in a skill group by winning 10 matches to get a rank. Players who are Master Guardian II (MG2) or above cannot team up with players who are unranked.

If a player does not participate in competitive matchmaking for 4 weeks, the player’s skill group will be hidden, and will require the player to win or draw an additional competitive match to be re-placed in a skill group.